City of Tucson Unofficial Primary Election Results

City of Tucson (courtesy photo)
City of Tucson (courtesy photo)

The beautiful city of Tucson, Arizona, will hold elections for mayor and three city council seats on November 3, 2015 in a City Wide election. The primary took place on Tuesday, August 25, 2015 by Ward Only elections.

Three of the six city council seats are up for election this year.

In the mayoral race, Democratic incumbent Jonathan Rothschild is running for a second term. He is unopposed in the primary, and, unless a challenger files to run against him by the September 24 deadline, he will be unopposed in the general election as well. No Republican or third party candidates filed for the primary.

As of 2015, Tucson is the only locality in Arizona that still holds partisan elections and the only one with Ward only elections for the primary and city wide elections in the general election. Democrats have dominated city council for most of the 21st century.

With none of the candidates in contested races, here’s how the total votes broke out on election night for the Tucson City Mayor and City Council.

At the time of writing this, there are a few ballots remaining to be counted, however due to the election being all mail-in vote, the final election results won’t be known until next Monday.

Total votes cast in the Primary as of August 25: 32,411

  • Democrats: 22,747 total ballots cast
  • Republicans: 9,607 total ballots cast
  • Libertarians: 57 total ballots cast (no Libertarian candidates were on the ballot)



Mayor Jonathan Rothschild (D) 22,068
Ward 1 Regina Romero (D) 3,437
Ward 1 Bill Hunt (R) 815
Ward 2 Paul Cunningham (D) 4,850
Ward 2 Kelly Lawton (R) 4,073
Ward 4 Shirley Scott (D) 3,125
Ward 4 Margaret Burkholder (R) 2,851

Major issues shaping the city council race this year include road maintenance and budgetary concerns. A controversial billboard campaign, funded by an independent committee, emerged in the summer to raise those two issues as well as the issue of poverty.

Click on the candidate’s name to go to their website for more information.

Ward 1

August 25 Democratic primary election candidates:

August 25 Republican primary election candidates:

Ward 2

August 25 Democratic primary election candidates:

  • Paul Cunningham – Incumbent Cunningham was appointed to the council in 2010.

August 25 Republican primary election candidates:

Ward 4

August 25 Democratic primary election candidates:

August 25 Republican primary election candidates: